Beauty · Hair · Uncategorized

Hair Diary Cont.

Gini Banner

A continuation of my previous post Hair Dairy

I tried a few more methods to try and sort out my untamed locks! I’ve listed them below for you.

Baby shampoo

I really wanted to start using more natural or less harsh chemicals in my hair. So I decided to try baby shampoo and a decent conditioner. My thinking was that if it was delicate enough for a baby’s head then it was for mine too! You learn something new everyday and I now know why even the darkest haired teenagers sometimes started out blonde as babies. This stuff lightened my hair so much! I honestly couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Now that I have grown up (somewhat) I actually prefer my dark hair and so this was not ideal. And to top it all off my scalp started to flake too (sexy, I know) so this stuff was promptly thrown out and and I bought this bad boy below. I’m not even going to attempt to pronounce the name.

26257119872_0578c77083_z

(Apologies for the crap photo!)

Dry shampoo

To assist with cutting down the amount of times I wash my hair I invested in some dry shampoo. I used to hate the stuff when it first came out but I can only assume they have improved the formula and now there is a whole load of brands doing their own versions so I will jump on board for the sake of my tresses. To be honest, so far I love the ones I use as long as I am putting my hair up as it makes it fuller and more textured and thus sticks in styles more, like a less crispy hairspray! I still dislike the stuff if my hair is down as it loses so much swish factor 😩 I do not find the aforementioned qualities in an up-do desirable in a free flowing look.

Split end mender

I invested in a treatment that you smooth through your wet hair and it is supposed to fuse the ends together for a sleeker look, especially for split ended peoples (and I am their Queen) so we shall see how I get along with this little gem.

And so this is the routine I have settled on – New Shampoo& Conditioner, split end mender, less washing and more dry shampooing (is that even a word?)

Yes, that was the longest intro ever but you’ll get used to my rambling eventually, maybe even grow to love it. From here on in I shall keep a diary and let you know what worked and what didn’t while sprinkling in the odd product review also.

I feel like I am changing so many variables at the same time that I won’t be able to narrow it down to the most helpful tip for you guys but I have reached the end of my patience for it unruliness. 25 years of mucking about is enough me thinks!

❤ Gini

Leave a Reply

