Bible · Uncategorized · Verse of the day

Ephesians 1:7

“He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins.” NLT

“In whom we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of his grace.” KJV

I like to read my verse of the day in a couple of different Bible translations as I feel it gives me a better understanding of the verse itself. Some things can be lost in translation so I hope this way I gain a better perspective.

This is such a good verse to start on! It’s the whole foundation of our beliefs and a short verse to remind us of all we owe to the God. I do not have children yet; but I imagine it would be the hardest thing to do to sacrifice someone you love so much to save people that do not know you yet. In some ways it is a big show of how much faith God has in us, rather than vice versa. In the interest of trying to keep things fresh lets look at it from this point of view.

Everyone, even people who do not believe, knows the story – God gave His only Son to save us from our sins and we should put our faith in Him as thanks. However, people seldom look at this statement and see in it how much faith has been put in us. God has trusted us with his heart, too. He has trusted us to learn about Him, to come to know Him, to see how much He loves us and extend Him love back.

If you were to boil it down (and I mean I am really grasping here) it is like God has gone down on bended knee and proposed to us all and is eagerly awaiting answer. And just like any good man, who has taken care of you the best he can and tried to protect you from all harm he can and offered you the world, he deserves your consideration.

Obviously I am writing from a woman’s POV so for you men out there imagine, or even remember, how nerve-wracking it is to ask that important question – to open yourself up so completely, so publicly, hoping for an answer filled with love.

A large population of this Earth can no longer be trusted to love and care even for their own family members. How great and large is the kindness God has to trust that similar people to those capable of such things will not turn their backs on him after he paid such a high price to give them the chance to prove it was worth it. It is a pretty large responsibility, not to mention a handsome offer. It makes me want to live up to it the best I can and I hope you do too.

God has asked nothing of us that He has not already bestowed upon us first – love and trust. And be happy in the knowledge that God trusts and loves you so so much.

Thanks for reading folks and thanks to YouVersion for giving me such a great verse to kick off my blog! Please let me know what you think, I look forward to your comments.

 

Leave a Reply

